The World Famous Camp Pendleton Mud Run: The Movie

For the past 8 years I have had the pleasure of running in the World Famous Mud Run at Camp Pendleton in Southern California. This is the 22nd year that the race has taken place. Every year the Marines do a fantastic job in making this a world class event.

My training started over 5 months ago. My goal was to beat my best time which was in 2008, 1HR & 15 minutes. Here is the kicker, this is really not a timed race that you can compare year over year based on the ever changing landscape of the course. Yet it gives me a good baseline and goal to aim for. The past 3 years have been really hard physically and mentally. My training was really soft and my mid section was softer. Last year I weighed in at 223LBS and completed the race, barely. The time was a record low for me, crossing the finish line at 2HR & 01 minute. 

This year is a big milestone, in less than two months I celebrate a milestone on the sundial. I will be 40 years old.

There was no way I was going to have a similar outcome as in 2014. After 5 months of strength and conditioning, running, cardio and cleaning up my diet. I steeped up to the starting line weighing in at 192lbs – stronger than ever, and ready to kick this race in the ass.

Attached to my chest was a GoPro – attached to my feet were determination and a will to complete this race at my personal best. The video is the race from my point of view. It covers water, hills, mud, tires, hills, water, hills and well mud. You can see if I hit my time goal at the end of the video. 

Cheers!

The Healthy Primate

Leave a Reply

